Aosdána Elects 12 New Members

Aosdána, the affiliation of creative artists in Ireland, elects 12 new members. The 12 newly elected members are: Kevin Barry (Literature); Gerard Byrne (Visual Art); Pat Collins (Visual Art); Jim Doherty (Music); Margo Harkin (Visual Art); Martin Lynch (Literature); Gina Moxley (Literature); Valerie Mulvin (Architecture); Mairead O’hEocha (Visual Art); Arthur Riordan (Literature); Liz Roche (Choreography); Jennifer Walshe (Music). This brings the membership to 249 members. There is a tie between candidates for the last available place, a postal ballot will be arranged as soon as possible to decide the outcome for the final place.

Aosdána, founded in 1981, honours artists whose work has made an outstanding contribution to the creative arts in Ireland, and assists members in devoting their energies fully to their art. Following an Arts Council survey in 1979 on the living and working conditions of artists and discussions on a scheme to support individual artists, Aosdána was collaboratively established by the Arts Council and the Government at the time. Membership of Aosdána, which is by peer nomination and election, is limited to 250 living artists, who have produced a distinguished body of work. The membership includes creative artists working in a wide range of genres within the disciplines of architecture, choreography, music, literature and visual art.

Source: Visual Artists Ireland News