现在出 - 九月/十月号

作为周边国家 世界继续努力应对 COVID-19 不断变化的现实,对文化部门的影响正在产生广泛的共鸣。 英国和美国已经失去了数以千计的博物馆和遗产工作岗位,以弥补因长期组织关闭而造成的迫在眉睫的赤字。 再加上最近围绕“黑人的命也是命”运动的激进主义——这导致了有问题的公共纪念碑及其有争议的历史被拆除——这种不稳定为当前围绕机构在危机时期转变角色的批判性辩论提供了背景。 在撰写本文时,国际博物馆理事会继续努力修改他们对博物馆的工作定义,该定义已近 50 年没有改变。 对于机构是否应该成为研究、保护和展示文物的场所,还是应该与更广泛的社会积极参与以实现全球变化的场所,意见仍然存在分歧。

爱尔兰机构也在寻找方法重新定义他们在 COVID-19 环境中的角色,特别是在观众参与方面。 30 月 XNUMX 日,NCAD Gallery 举办了一场名为“我们呼吸的空气:未来实践中的多个公众”的在线活动,重点关注“社交距离时代的社会参与”。 这场引人入胜的小组讨论强调了该领域对创新的迫切需求,呼吁采取多种策略与艺术家合作,围绕项目组建社区,并在公共领域创建实体展示,而不仅仅是将艺术品“转移到在线领域”, “禁止连接”。 重申 Arundati Roy 对“大流行作为门户”的类比——这要求我们考虑我们可能会带来什么,以及我们可能会留下什么——Ailbhe Murphy(CREATE 总监)建议我们需要雄心勃勃地思考“重新塑造一个基础设施”在爱尔兰艺术生态中。 这包括重新评估资源的分配和画廊空间的公共性,同时也质疑衡量指标作为机构价值分配方式的有效性。

遵循类似的调查路线,马特·帕克 (Matt Packer) 为该问题撰写的专栏概述了爱尔兰战略资助组织的集体关切。  此外,一些专题文章描述了节日和双年展如何适应围绕群众集会的持续公共卫生限制。 米格尔·阿马多采访玛丽·布雷特 稻草节,一部借鉴 1830 年代霍乱大流行的作品,通过古代和当代的文化传说探索 COVID-19 的经历。 Matt Packer 还采访了第 39 届伊娃国际的客座策展人 Merve Elveren,关于双年展的务实和策展挑战,双年展现在将分三个阶段进行,  与第一个  阶段于 18 月 15 日开始并持续到 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日。


要每两个月将一期视觉艺术家新闻单直接送到您家门口,请成为 Visual Artists Ireland 的成员 此处.

Out Now – September/October Issue

As countries around the world continue to grapple with the shifting realities of COVID-19, the impact on the cultural sector is resonating far and wide. Thousands of museum and heritage jobs have already been lost in the UK and in the US, in a bid to offset looming deficits caused by the extended organisational closures. Coupled with the recent activism surrounding the Black Lives Matter campaign – which brought about the dismantling of problematic public monuments and their contentious histories – such instability provides a backdrop for current critical debate surrounding the shifting role of institutions in times of crisis. At the time of writing, the International Council of Museums continues its efforts to revise their working definition of a museum, which has not changed in almost 50 years. Opinions remain divided on whether institutions should be places that research, conserve and exhibit artifacts, or ones that actively engage with wider society in working towards global change.

Irish institutions are also finding ways to redefine their roles in the COVID-19 landscape, particularly with regard to audience engagement. On 30 July, NCAD Gallery convened an online event, titled ‘The Air We Breathe: Multiple Publics in Future Practice’, which focused on “social engagement in the age of social distance”. This fascinating panel discussion highlighted an urgent need for innovation in the sector, calling for diverse strategies for working with artists, assembling communities around projects, and creating physical presentations in the public realm, beyond artworks simply being “displaced into the online sphere”, which “prohibits conjunction”. Reasserting Arundati Roy’s analogy of the “pandemic as a portal” – which asked us to consider what we might bring with us, and what we might leave behind – Ailbhe Murphy (Director of CREATE) suggested that we need to think ambitiously about “recasting an infrastructure” within the Irish arts ecology. This includes reassessing the distribution of resources and the publicness of gallery spaces, while also questioning the validity of metrics as a way of attributing value to institutions.

Following a similar line of inquiry, Matt Packer’s column for this issue outlines the collective concerns of Ireland’s Strategically Funded Organisations.  In addition, several feature articles describe how festivals and biennales are having to adapt to ongoing public health restrictions surrounding mass gatherings. Miguel Amado interviews Marie Brett about Day of the Straws, a work which draws upon the cholera pandemic of the 1830s to explore the experience of COVID-19 through ancient and contemporary cultural lore. Matt Packer also interviews Merve Elveren, guest programme curator for the 39th Eva International, about the pragmatic and curatorial challenges for the biennale, which will now be delivered in three phases,  with the first  phase opening on 18 September and continuing until 15 November.


To get issues of The Visual Artists’ News Sheet delivered directly to your door every two months, become a member of Visual Artists Ireland here.