节日简介 | 互惠

Conal McStravic 在第 17 届贝里克电影与媒体艺术节上探讨激进主义历史和关怀社区。

Cat & Éiméar McClay, a body is a body is a body, 2021, 视频; 影片仍由艺术家和 BFMAF 提供。 Cat & Éiméar McClay, a body is a body is a body, 2021, 视频; 影片仍由艺术家和 BFMAF 提供。

伯威克电影 与媒体艺术节 (BFMAF) 于 2005 年由电影制片人 Huw Davies 和艺术家 Marcus Coates 在诺森伯兰郡的 Berwick-upon-Tweed 镇成立。 BFMAF 由英国艺术委员会、BFI、地方和县议会资助,并得到包括纽卡斯尔大学和圣安德鲁斯大学、女权主义电影发行商、Cinenova 和印度国家电影档案馆在内的众多学术、项目和计划合作伙伴的支持。

Berwick 的独特位置——一个位于英苏格兰边境的古老驻军小镇,以特威德河和北海海岸为界——使其成为 XNUMX 世纪英国电影节的有利场所。 该节日的许多展览和活动充分利用了该镇独特的建筑遗产、景观、临海面和氛围,吸引了来自英国和国际(在线)的好奇和见多识广的观众。

现在已经是第 17 个年头,在电影节总监、出生于贝尔法斯特的彼得·泰勒的带领下,BFMAF 继续赢得赞誉,作为新电影和经典电影的接受和重新评估以及实验和艺术家的动态形象的领头羊。 值得注意的是,自节日开始以来,英国发生了翻天覆地的变化:金融危机和紧缩经济、苏格兰公投、持续的难民危机、英国退欧,然后是 COVID。 然而,随着历史的流逝,Berwick 的定位不仅是探索电影要表达什么,而且随着电影、媒体实践和观众的不断转变,在 COVID 后重新组合,见证最近发生的事件,电影节可以实现什么并在塑造未来的辩论中提出主张。

泰勒说:“对我来说,最激动人心的事情是见证 BFMAF 是如何被参与其中的人塑造的。 尤其是艺术家和电影人的作品如何能如此深刻地触动我们。 对话和友谊,使工作成为现实的知识和经验,在节日中变得生动起来。 这远远超出了任何单一事件本身。 它改变了我们。 还有一种我永远无法追踪的非线性相互关联。” 

本着协作的策展精神,包括 Christina Demetriou、Alice Miller、Myriam Mouflih 和 Herb Shellenberger、前景女权主义者、LGBTQ+、土著、POC 和全球多数电影制作人和艺术家在内的合作程序员。 Jemma Desai,前 BFI,今年加入,担任编程主管。 今年的“互助”主题将节日制作的非殖民主义和社会正义方法作为创造性合作和团结工作的一种手段。 

电影节包括 Berwick New Cinema Award、Filmmakers in Focus、Propositions、Essential Cinema、Work in Progress 和 Young People's Programme、在线展览计划、在线采访和活动,这些活动代表了过去和现在的电影和媒体艺术实践的广度,培育了未来天赋。 

Berwick New Cinema 之前的获奖者包括英国和国际电影制片人 Onyeka Igwe、Julia Feyrer 和 Tamara Henderson、Callum Hill、Sky Hopinka 和 Camilo Restrepo。 一个新的共享奖项展示了英国和国际电影制作人,包括 Sophia Al-Maria、Camara Taylor、Jordan Lord、Fern Silva、Salad Hilowle、Ane Hjort Guttu、Fox Maxy、Carlos Maria Romero、Adam Lewis Jacob、Suneil Sanzgiri、Abdessamad El Montassir、 Tim Leyendekker、Amalia Ulman、Rehana Zaman 和爱尔兰二人组 Cat 和 Éiméar McClay。

在 2020 年仅限在线的音乐节之后,今年又恢复了现场形式。 数量受到限制,媒体艺术展览仅限于在线委托。 即便如此,这个节日还是带着对大流行之后更广泛的社会和政治运动的重新承诺回归:全球黑人的命也是命的抗议活动以及几十年来反种族主义、气候正义、土著权利和工人权利激进主义,通过后 COVID 政治重新塑造,在电影制作人、艺术家和程序员的反应中清晰可见。

在新电影奖中,亚当刘易斯雅各布的精彩电影, 爱尔兰语 (2021 年),是关于工会、反种族主义激进主义和运动建设的及时故事,以穆罕默德·伊德里什为中心,这位总部位于伯明翰的移民活动家在撒切尔统治的英国面临着驱逐出境。 自然资源 乔丹·洛德 (Jordan Lord) 的 (2021) 是美国白人中产阶级(即电影制片人的家庭)命运逆转的典范肖像,拍摄时间超过五年,而洛德的父亲曾是银行债务经理,他正与慢性病、裁员和破产作斗争。 雷哈娜·扎曼 另类经济 (2021 年)通过在锁定期间就加密货币和通过草药疗法进行的对话,同时与她的儿子重新观看和解码迪士尼卡通资本主义,为可视化资本主义的替代方案带来了欢乐和洞察力。 对于雅各布来说,过去和现在的反驱逐抗议活动将档案视频和声音变成了反对种族不公正和英国内政部持续存在的“敌对环境”的战斗口号。 Lord 和 Raman 探索了电影制作,它为提取、剥削和资本主义俘获、积累和债务提供了替代方案——在此过程中,将知识重新表演并体现为解放和相互的社会关系。 

身体是身体是身体 (2021 年)是由爱尔兰双人组 Cat 和 Éiméar McClay 制作的沉浸式、自动小说启发的动画视频,重新塑造了凯尔特老虎时代爱尔兰天主教文化中双胞胎和酷儿的童年记忆。 像风景一样的皮肤和哥特式教堂的闺房变成了仪式剧场和异教徒的柴堆,而睡前祈祷则预示着同性觉醒是天主教、酷儿和神秘的必然结果。 洪水和火灾重新构想了生态女权主义的未来,以及身体、皮肤和仪式如何连接或净化,作为集体宣泄和从父权制中解放出来的模式。

过去的 BFMAF 常驻艺术家包括 Margaret Salmon、Charlotte Prodger 和 Lucy Clout。 最近的在线委托展示了 Zinzi Minott 和爱尔兰艺术家 Renèe Helèna Browne。 2021 年,BFMAF 的特色是黑人跨性别档案艺术家 Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley 当我们自己贝维克世界 展示 Seema Mattu 的治愈正义作品——艺术家们在最近的角色扮演启发作品的互动转向中处于领先地位。 

在焦点节目中,印度集体 SPS 社区媒体、柬埔寨制作集体 Anti-Archive 和越南电影制片人 Nguy 的电影n Trinh Thi,介绍南亚和东南亚的集体生产方法。 阮n的 如何改善世界 (2021),使用讲故事、仪式和音乐来抵制西方通过捕捉图像、集中声音和本土共存来构建叙事的镜头来谈论我们如何共同生活。 Essential Cinema Cinenova 展示厅, 回到我们自己 – 为响应 S. Pearl Sharp 最近恢复的精彩而编写的程序, 回到自己的内心 (1984) - 增加了近年来关于史蒂夫·雷因克和佩吉·阿威什的档案回顾。 这以 Tako Taal、Rhiana Bonterre、Ufuoma Essi、Sarah Lasoye 和 Jamila Prowse 的诗歌和电影贡献为特色,重新连接了过去、现在和未来黑人女权主义中跨代、跨大西洋的对话。

泰勒总结说,这样的共同未来是:“百分之一百的工作正在进行中”,并补充说:“我们学到一点,我们失去一点,我们犯错误,我们再试一次。 我一直非常清楚节日如何能够大于其部分的总和。 总和需要更好地加起来。 从字面上和比喻上来说。”

第 17 届伯威克电影与媒体艺术展 音乐节于 10 年 12 月 2021 日至 10 日举行(30 月 XNUMX 日至 XNUMX 日在线举行)

bfmaf.org

Conal McStravic 是驻伦敦的艺术家、策展人、作家和研究员。

Festival Profile | Mutuality

Conal McStravick considers activist histories and communities of care at the 17th Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival.

Cat & Éiméar McClay, a body is a body is a body, 2021, Video; film still courtesy of the artists and BFMAF. Cat & Éiméar McClay, a body is a body is a body, 2021, Video; film still courtesy of the artists and BFMAF.

The Berwick Film & Media Art Festival (BFMAF) was established in 2005 by filmmaker Huw Davies and artist Marcus Coates in the Northumberland town of Berwick-upon-Tweed. BFMAF is funded by Arts Council England, BFI, local and county councils, and supported by a host of academic, project and programme partners including Newcastle and St. Andrews Universities, feminist film distributor, Cinenova and the National Film Archive of India.

The unique location of Berwick – an ancient garrison town on the English-Scottish border, bounded by the River Tweed and the North Sea coast – makes this a beneficent setting for a twenty-first-century UK film festival. The festival’s many exhibitions and events take full advantage of the unique built heritage, landscape, seaward aspect, and atmosphere of the town, drawing in inquisitive and informed audiences from across the UK and internationally (online).

Now in its 17th year, under Festival Director, Belfast-born Peter Taylor, BFMAF has continued to win plaudits as a bellwether event in the reception and re-evaluation of new and classic cinema, and experimental and artist’s moving image. Notably, since the festival began, the UK has seen seismic changes: the financial crisis and austerity economics, the Scottish referendum, an ongoing refugee crisis, Brexit, then COVID. Yet, as history races to the present, Berwick is positioned not only to explore what film has to say, but what a festival can achieve as film, media practices and audiences continue to transform, regrouping post-COVID, to bear witness to recent events and to stake a claim in shaping future debates.

Taylor says: “The most exciting thing for me is witnessing how BFMAF has been shaped by the people involved with it. Especially how artists’ and filmmakers’ work can touch us so deeply. The conversations and friendships, the knowledge and experiences that bring work into being, come alive at a festival. This unfolds long beyond any single event itself. It changes us. And there’s a non-linear inter-relatedness that I would never be able to trace.” 

In a collaborative curatorial spirit associate programmers including Christina Demetriou, Alice Miller, Myriam Mouflih, and Herb Shellenberger, foreground feminist, LGBTQ+, indigenous, POC and global majority filmmakers and artists. Jemma Desai, formerly of BFI, joins this year as Head of Programming. This year’s theme of ‘Mutuality’ cites decolonial and social justice approaches to festival-making as a means of creative collaboration and solidarity work. 

Festival strands include the Berwick New Cinema Award, Filmmakers in Focus, Propositions, Essential Cinema, Work in Progress and Young People’s Programme, an online exhibition programme, online interviews and events representing the breadth of past and present film and media arts practices that nurture future talent. 

Previous winners of Berwick New Cinema include UK and international filmmakers Onyeka Igwe, Julia Feyrer & Tamara Henderson, Callum Hill, Sky Hopinka and Camilo Restrepo. A new, shared award showcases UK and international filmmakers including Sophia Al-Maria, Camara Taylor, Jordan Lord, Fern Silva, Salad Hilowle, Ane Hjort Guttu, Fox Maxy, Carlos Maria Romero, Adam Lewis Jacob, Suneil Sanzgiri, Abdessamad El Montassir, Tim Leyendekker, Amalia Ulman, Rehana Zaman and the Irish-duo, Cat and Éiméar McClay.

A live format returned this year after 2020’s online-only festival. Numbers were restricted and media art exhibitions limited to online commissions. Even so, the festival has returned with a renewed commitment to the broader social and political movements catalysed in the wake of the pandemic: the global Black Lives Matter protests and the re-consolidation of decades of anti-racist, climate justice, indigenous rights and worker’s rights activism, re-forged through post-COVID politics, clearly seen in the responses of filmmakers, artists and programmers.

In the New Cinema Award, Adam Lewis Jacob’s brilliant film, Idrish (2021), is a timely tale of trade union, anti-racist activism and movement building that centres on Muhammad Idrish, the Birmingham-based immigration activist who faced-down deportation during Thatcher’s Britain. Natural Resources (2021) by Jordan Lord is an exemplary portrait of the reversed fortunes of white middle-class America, namely the filmmaker’s family, filmed over five years whilst Lord’s father, a former bank debt manager, struggles with chronic illness, redundancy, and bankruptcy. Rehana Zaman’s Alternative Economies (2021) brings joy and insight to visualising alternatives to capitalism through conversations held during lockdown about cryptocurrencies and healing through herbalism, whilst re-watching and decoding Disney cartoon capitalism with her son. For Jacob, past and present anti-deportation protests whip up archive video and sound into a rallying cry against racialised injustice and the ongoing UK Home Office’s ‘hostile environment’. Lord and Raman explore filmmaking that offers alternatives to extraction, exploitation and capitalist capture, accumulation, and debt – in the process re-performing and embodying knowledge as liberatory and mutual social relations. 

A body is a body is a body (2021) is an immersive, auto-fiction-inspired, animated video by Irish-duo, Cat and Éiméar McClay, that refigures childhood memories of being twins and queer in Celtic Tiger-era Irish Catholic culture. Skin as landscape and Gothic church boudoirs become ritual theatres and pagan pyres, whilst bedtime prayers pre-figure same-sex awakenings as Catholic, queer, and occult corollaries. Flooding and fire reimagine eco-feminist futures, and how bodies, skin and rituals connect or cleanse, as modes of collective catharsis and liberation from patriarchy.

Past BFMAF resident artists included Margaret Salmon, Charlotte Prodger and Lucy Clout. Recent online commissions have showcased Zinzi Minott and Irish artist, Renèe Helèna Browne. For 2021, BFMAF features Black trans archive artist, Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley’s When Amongst Our Own and BERWICKWORLD showcasing the healing justice work of Seema Mattu – artists at the fore of a recent interactive turn in role-player inspired works. 

In the Focus programme, the films of Indian collective SPS Community Media, Cambodian production collective, Anti-Archive, and the Vietnamese filmmaker, Nguyn Trinh Thi, profile collective production methods in South and South-East Asia. Nguyn’s How to Improve the World (2021), uses storytelling, ritual, and music to resist the Western lens of constructing narrative through capturing images, centring sound and indigenous co-presence to talk about how we live together. The Essential Cinema Cinenova showcase, Back Inside Ourselves – programmed in response to S. Pearl Sharp’s recently restored and wonderful, Back Inside Herself (1984) – adds to archive retrospectives in recent years on Steve Reinke and Peggy Ahwesh. This featured poetry and film contributions from Tako Taal, Rhiana Bonterre, Ufuoma Essi, Sarah Lasoye and Jamila Prowse, re-connecting an intergenerational, transatlantic dialogue within Black Feminism, past, present and future.

Taylor concludes that such a shared future is: “one-hundred percent work in progress”, adding: “We learn a little, we lose a little, we make mistakes, we try again. I’ve been very conscious how festivals can be greater than the sum of their parts. The sums need to add up better. Literally and metaphorically.”

The 17th edition of Berwick Film and Media Art Festival ran from 10 to 12 September 2021 (and from 10 to 30 September online)

bfmaf.org

Conal McStravick is an artist, curator, writer and researcher based in London.